Active Trainings are Trainings that are currently assigned to a User.
Former Trainings are Trainings that were assigned to the same User in the past.
Thus, if we remove one or multiple User Functions from a User, then the Trainings associated with those UFs will be removed from the User’s profile. This way, these Trainings will become Former Trainings.
Likewise, from the Users / Offline users tab on a Training’s Details page, you can view who are the Active and Former Trainees associated with that Training.
Essentially, the principle is the same - Former Trainings were once associated with that Training but they are currently not.